Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromeburn
What Is that rule ???
|
o
I'm not absolutely sure, but since he didn't slide feet-first, I think that he isn't down until he is touched.
In Super Bowl XXII between the Redskins and the Broncos in January of 1988, Doug Williams was ruled to have given himself up when he twisted his ankle and simply flipped the ball in the air as he fell on his back ...... but that was different because he was clearly hurt and in pain, and he literally flipped the ball in the air as he went down because of the agony that he was in.
In this case Ryan wasn't injured, and he didn't slide feet-first, so I don't know how or why they would rule him down before he was touched.
o